[an error occurred while processing this directive]
PAGE PRINCIPALE - Moments historiques en politique canadienne. Choisir la galerie de photographie désirée. Le très. hon. Pierre Trudeau: photographies de 1978 à 1984.
Le très. hon. Brian Mulroney: photographies de 1983 à 1993.
Le très. hon. Joe Clark: photographies de 1978 à 1983.
Le très. hon. John Turner: photographies de 1983 à 1984.
 
PAGE PRINCIPALE - Moments historiques en politique canadienne. Version anglaise du site web.
Version anglaise de cette page. English version of this page.

30 AVRIL 1983 – Débat de la campagne de la course au leadership du parti progressiste-conservateur, Massey Hall, Toronto

Silencieux et concentrés, Brian Mulroney et Joe Clark passent dans les coulisses de Massey Hall; dans quelques minutes, ce sera le débat des candidats au leadership du P.C. à Toronto.

Image suivante. Image suivante.
Photograph of Joe Clark and Brian Mulroney crossing paths at leadership debate / Copyright (c) 1983 by William C. Stratas. All Rights Reserved.

Après sa défaite à l'élection de février 1980 sous la gouverne de Joe Clark, le parti progressiste-conservateur a souffert pendant quelques années de luttes intestines mettant en cause le leadership. À l'intérieur du parti certaines forces traquaient Clark et le harcelaient dans le but de le faire tomber pour ses fausses manoeuvres au cours de son mandat de neuf mois à la tête du pays en 1979-1980.

Ces forces profitèrent du meeting national du P.C. à Winnipeg à la fin de janvier 1983 alors que Clark dût démisionner suite à un vote de confiance de l'ordre de 66 pour cent, et elles réclamèrent un congrès à l'investiture. Clark, qui disposait de ressources et de soutien financier substantiels, déclara sans hésiter qu'il serait candidat à cette course à la direction prévue pour juin 1983 à Ottawa.

Des débats régionaux furent organisés par le parti dans plusieurs villes où les candidats s'affrontèrent devant les délégués et les membres d'un bout à l'autre du pays. C'est le débat télévisé tenu à Toronto qui suscita le plus grand intérêt car les partisans d'un autre candidat à la direction, Brian Mulroney, en nombre croissant, confiants et disposant de fonds, étaient impatients de passer à l'action.

Dans les coulisses de Massey Hall, la vénérable salle de concert de Toronto qui allait devenir le théâtre de cette confrontation, les organisateurs et le personnel de terrain se tiennent coude à coude avec leurs collègues concurrents. On assigna une loge à chacun des sept candidats au leadership pour leur préparation et leurs briefings, mais dans l'environnement arrière-scène, il était devenu impossible de les distinguer en tout temps.

Au cours d'une rencontre particulièrement imprévue quelques minutes seulement avant le débat, Brian Mulroney et Joe Clark se croisèrent dans le corridor du côté est de la scène et s'ignorèrent mutuellement — silencieusement, sans hésitation et délibérément. À ce moment-là, on ne savait pas encore que l'affiche murale < EXIT DOOR > identifiant la porte de sortie sur le mur du fond annonçait précisément où Clark allait se retrouver six semaines plus tard malgré sa courageuse tentative de regagner la confiance et le leadership de son parti au congrès de juin: Entrée de Brian Mulroney alors que Joe Clark s'éclipse du côté droit de la scène.


Play this audio file (Real Player required).

COMMENTAIRE AUDIO: Le photographe William Stratas raconte par quelle chance il a été à même de réaliser cette extraordinaire photographie (en anglais, 2:10)

Download free RealOne Player to hear this audio file.

Content copyright protected by Copyscape website plagiarism search
LINK TO: Site development and design by PLANETCAST.

En ligne depuis 1996 - Un des sites Web de premier rang sur l'histoire de la politique au Canada.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
LINK TO HOME PAGE - Historic Moments In Canadian Poilitics. Select Photo Gallery For Viewing. Rt. Hon. Pierre Trudeau: Photos from 1978-1984.
Rt. Hon. Brian Mulroney: Photos from 1983-1993.
Rt. Hon. Joe Clark: Photos from 1978-1983.
Rt. Hon. John Turner: Photos from 1983-1984.
 
LINK TO HOME PAGE - Historic Moments In Canadian Poilitics. French version of web site.
French version of this page. Version française de cette page.

APRIL 30, 1983 – Progressive Conservative Party Leadership Campaign Debate, Massey Hall, Toronto

Brian Mulroney and Joe Clark pass silently in the back corridors of Massey Hall, in the nervous minutes prior to start of the P.C. Party Leadership Debate in Toronto.

Skip to Next Photo. Skip to Next Photo.
Photograph of Joe Clark and Brian Mulroney crossing paths at leadership debate / Copyright (c) 1983 by William C. Stratas. All Rights Reserved.

Following its defeat in the February 1980 election, the Progressive Conservative Party under its leader, Joe Clark, suffered several years of vicious internal strife over leadership. Formidable forces in the party were stalking Clark, ready to defeat him for having mishandled his nine-month term of government, from June 1979 to early March 1980.

Those forces had their opportunity at the national P.C. Party meeting in Winnipeg, Manitoba in late January 1983, where Clark resigned following a 66 percent vote of confidence from party delegates, and called for a leadership convention. With substantial support and resources marshalled on his side, Clark simultaneously declared that he would be a candidate at that convention, set for June 1983, in Ottawa.

Regional debates were organized by the party in several cities, bringing the seven leadership candidates face-to-face with delegates and members across Canada. The televised debate in Toronto held greatest anticipation, since supporters of leadership candidate Brian Mulroney, a notable Montreal business executive, were well-funded, confident, growing in numbers, and itching to flex new-found political muscle.

In the backstage corridors of Massey Hall, the venerable Toronto concert hall that served as the location for this televised confrontation, handlers and advance people nervously stood shoulder-to-shoulder with their competing colleagues. Each of seven leadership candidates was assigned a small room for final preparations and briefings, but in the cramped backstage surroundings it was impossible to segregate them at all times.

In one supremely awkward encounter, minutes before start of the debate as candidates were moving about, Brian Mulroney and Joe Clark passed each other with deliberate avoidance in the east stage corridor — silently, swiftly, tensely. Unknown at the time, the 'EXIT DOOR' sign on the back wall foreshadowed exactly where Clark was heading six weeks later with his courageous attempt to regain his party's confidence and leadership at the national convention in June: Brian Mulroney, in; Joe Clark, exit, stage right.


Play this audio file (Real Player required).

AUDIO COMMENTARY: The photographer, William Stratas, recounts his luck at grabbing this extraordinary photograph (2:10)

Download free RealOne Player to hear this audio file.

Content copyright protected by Copyscape website plagiarism search
LINK TO: Site development and design by PLANETCAST.

Online Since 1996 - One of Canada's Leading Political History Web Sites